ANCs: Spencer, Thomas, Estrada, Benardo Win

by November 3, 2010 at 12:44 am 2,632 2 Comments

ANC 1B02 Tucker Gallagher

In ANC 1B02, Aaron Spencer won 36% of the vote in a three-way race with Tucker Gallagher and incumbent Peter Raia. (DC Citizen Atlas)

Note: Numbers were updated at 7:30 am Wednesday.

The results are in for all four of the contested races in the Advisory Neighborhood Commissions (ANCs) covering the Dupont-Logan-U Street area:

The winners are Aaron Spencer in ANC 1B02, Deborah Thomas in ANC 1B04, Ramon Estrada in 2B09 and Mike Benardo in 2F06.

ANC 1B02

This district in the heart of the U Street neighborhood will have a new commissioner: Aaron Specner, who got 257 votes (36%) in this tight three-way race. He will replace one-term incumbent Peter Raia, who finished second with 238 votes (33%). Tucker Gallagher finished third with 203 votes (29%).

ANC 1B04

Deborah Thomas won another term by defeating William Girardo. Thomas got 303 votes (72%) to 101 votes for Girardo (24%). Thomas got 65% of the vote in 2008 against Dee Hunter.

ANC 2B09

In this combination Dupont-U Street district, Ramon Estrada won a fifth term over Sunit Talapatra. Estrada got 187 votes (55%) to 148 votes for Talapatra (44.4%). In 2008 Estrada defeated Doug Rodgers 58 to 40%. This was the only contested race in 2010 out of nine single member districts in 2B09.

ANC 2B09

ANC 2B09: Ramon Estrada pulled 55% of the vote to win a fifth term against Sunit Talapatra. (DC Citizen Atlas)

ANC 2F06

In the east Logan Circle area, incumbent Mike Benardo narrowly won a second term, defeating Kate McMahon. Benardo received 210 votes (51%) to 191 votes for McMahon (46%). This was the only contested race in 2010 out of six single member districts in 2F. There were no candidates on the ballot in two of the districts, 04 and 05.

Related Posts


Subscribe to our mailing list