by November 1, 2010 at 12:10 am 3,358 0


Top row, from left: Tucker Gallagher, Deborah Thomas and Mike Benardo. Center row, from left: Sunit Talapatra, William Girardo and Peter Raia. Bottom row, from left: Ramon Estrada, Kate McMahon and Aaron Spencer. (Luis Gomez Photos)

For most states, November 2 will be one of the most contentious election days in recent memory. Here in DC, though, Election Day tends to be viewed as just another day, with few races that are contested. DC certainly is a one-party city, with registered Democrats constituting about 74% of all voters, and the primaries are the election where winners are usually decided.

But, here’s why you should pay attention, vote and buck the D.C. Election Day malaise: the elected offices that determine the future of your neighborhood are in play. Advisory Neighborhood Commission seats are critically important to the development of businesses, residential areas and cultural spots near your homes. (Check out Lydia DePillis’ post today over at the City Paper’s Housing Complex Blog: Building a Better ANC.)


by October 22, 2010 at 5:10 am 5,149 3 Comments

Peter Raia ANC 1B02 U Street NW

Peter Raia is running for a second term in ANC 1B02. (Luis Gomez Photos)

From Michelle Lancaster

Borderstan is covering four contested Advisory Neighborhood Commission (ANC) races in the three local ANCs: ANC 1B02, 1B04, 2B09 and 2F06. The general election is Nov. 2.

Today’s interview is with Peter Raiai, the one-term incumbent in ANC 1B02. He is being challenged by Tucker Gallagher (see Borderstan interview) and Aaron Spencer (interview will run next week).

ANC 1B02 is in the heart of the U St. neighborhood and this district runs along U St. from 14th St. east to 9th St., and from S St. on the south to as far north as Florida Ave. in some places. You can learn more about 1B02 at the DC Citizen Atlas. ANC 1B has 11 commissioners and covers a large geographic area.

In an unexpected twist, Raia told Borderstan that he may be moving from ANC 1B02 in the near future. See the final question below the fold — and Raia’s answer.

ANC commissioners are elected from Single Member Districts (SMDs) in the city’s 37 ANCs. While the number of commissioners in each ANC varies, each SMD has approximately 2,000 residents. (See links to related posts at bottom.)



Subscribe to our mailing list