by November 5, 2012 at 11:00 am 1,453 0

"election information"

DC Voter Guide from Board of Elections. (Luis Gomez Photos)

Need election information for Election Day 2012 in DC: What are the polling place hours? Where do I vote? Can I register to vote on election day?

  • Poll Hours: The polls in D.C. open at 7 am and close at 8 pm.
  • Finding Your Polling Place: Don’t know where you vote? Go to the DC Board of Elections and Ethics (DCBOEE) Polling Place Locator, put in your home address and get your polling place information. Precinct locations for the Dupont-Logan-U Street area also listed below. You can also check the DOBOEE maps with precincts for Ward 1 (U Street area) and Ward 2 (Dupont-Logan).
  • Same-Day Voter Registration: If you are not registered to vote, you can register and vote on Tuesday. Here is what you need to bring to your polling place on Tuesday — if you are not already registered — according to BOEE: “To register to vote during early voting or on Election Day, you must bring a driver’s license, bank statement, utility bill, government check or paycheck, or other government document showing your current name and address and cast a special ballot subject to verification by the Board.”
  • Check Your Voting Registration Status: DCBOEE has a page on its website where you can check your registration.
  • Who/What Am I Voting for Tuesday: The DCBOEE has a list of all offices on the ballot on November 6, including sample ballots by Ward. Check out the Voter Guide.

Voting Precincts and Locatons in Dupont-Logan-U Street

DCBOEE has Ward maps with precinct boundaries; local precincts are in Wards 1 and 2. Here are 14 selected precincts in the Dupont-Logan-U Street area. Remember if you are not sure, check this page on the DCBOEE for election information.

Dupont Area

  • 4 –  West End Public Library, 1101 24th Street NW
  • 13 – Our Lady of the Americas, 2200 California Avenue NW
  • 14 – St. Thomas Episcopal Church Parish, 1772 Church Street NW
  • 15 – Foundry United Methodist Church, 1500 16th Street NW

Logan-Shaw-Downtown Area

  • 16 – Fifteenth Street Presbyterian Church, 1701 15th Street NW
  • 17 – Metropolitan AME Church, Douglas Hall, 1518 M Street NW
  • 18 – Kennedy Recreation Center, 1407 7th Street NW
  • 21 – Watha T. Daniel-Shaw Community Library, 1630 7th Street NW
  • 129 – Martin Luther King Library, 901 G Street NW

U Street Area

  • 22 – Garnet-Patterson Jr. High School, 2001 10th Street NW
  • 23 – Rita Bright Community Center, Gymnasium, 2500 14th Street NW
  • 24 – Marie Reed Learning Center, 2200 Champlain Street NW
  • 137 – Garrison Elementary School, 1200 S Street NW
  • 141 – Frank D. Reeves Municipal Center, 2000 14th Street NW

by October 31, 2008 at 10:23 am 1,970 0

ANC 2B-09 district. (Image from Greater Greater Washington blog.)

ANC 2B-09 district is shaded light blue. (Image from Greater Greater Washington blog.)

Good morning, Borderstanians. Just four days to go until election day next Tuesday. D.C. city council races–particularly those two at-large seats–are getting plenty of coverage in the media and blogosphere. The presidential race is bringing us muchos television ads, thanks to Virginia’s status as a battleground state between McCain and Obama.

But, what about local races for Advisory Neighborhood Commissions (ANC)? (If you are unsure what ANCs do, click here.) Borderstan is split between three ANC districts, two in ANC 2B/Dupont Circle and one in ANC 2F/Logan Circle. None of the three incumbent commissioners representing Borderstan face opposition for the next two-year term. (Information at bottom of this posting on how to determine your ANC district and commissioner.)

Contested Race in ANC 2B-09

There is one neighboring ANC 2B district that is garnering a great deal of coverage–the ANC 2B-09 seat where incumbent Ramon Estrada is being challenged by Doug Rogers. Here are links to the two candidates’ Web sites and to some coverage of the race:

Borderstan ANC Districts and Commissioners

  • Borderstan’s boundaries are from P to S Streets and from 14th to 16th Streets NW (the center of Borderstan is 15th and Corcoran Streets NW).
  • ANC 2B-04: West Borderstan from the north side of Q Street to the south side of S Street is in District 04 and is represented by Jack Jacobson. He is running unopposed on November 4.
  • ANC 2B-05: West Borderstan from the south side of Q Street heading south is represented by incumbent Victor Wexler who is running unopposed on November 4.
  • ANC 2F-01: East Borderstan (east of 15th Street) is represented by incumbent Charles Reed, the commissioner for ANC 2F-01.
  • Map of ANC 2B districts.



Subscribe to our mailing list